Santiago ePrix

Sat 26th January 2019 UTC
No local date found

18:00:00 UTC
No local time found



Recent Record

Formula E



Parque O'Higgins Circuit
(0 Attendance)

Home / Sport / Motorsport / Formula E / 2018-2019 / Santiago ePrix

Video Highlights

The 2019 Santiago ePrix (formally the 2019 ABB FIA Formula E Antofagasta Minerals Santiago ePrix) was a Formula E electric car race held at the Parque O'Higgins Circuit in the Parque O'Higgins of Santiago, Chile on 26 January 2019. It was the third round of the 2018–19 Formula E season and the second annual edition of the event.

Sam Bird took full advantage of a costly error from Sebastien Buemi to score his and Envision Virgin's first win of the 2018/19 FIA Formula E season in Santiago.
Bird, who started fourth on the grid in Chile, made early moves on Daniel Abt and Pascal Wehrlein before chasing down race-leader Buemi, who had looked primed to end a two-season wait for victory after inheriting pole position following Lucas di Grassi’s exclusion.
Buemi had controlled the first half of the race, but a mistake under pressure from Bird sent the Nissan e.dams driver into the wall for the second time in the same day. Despite managing to crawl back to the pits, Buemi was forced into retirement with heavy front suspension damage.That promoted Bird into a race lead which he refused to relinquish, as the Briton went on to fend off a late charge from Wehrlein to claim his first victory since last year’s Rome E-Prix.
Wehrlein capped off an impressive day to secure Mahindra’s third straight podium finish of the season and the ex-Formula 1 driver’s first rostrum appearance, BMW-Andretti driver and fellow FE rookie Alexander Sims finished third on the road but was demoted to seventh following a post-race time penalty for causing a collision, which instead promoted Audi’s Daniel Abt into third.

None found...

Result List
1 Sam Bird36 laps
2 Pascal Wehrlein+ 6.489s
3 Daniel Abt+ 14.529s

Result Description

1. Sam Bird / Envision Virgin Racing /36 laps/ 25
2. Pascal Wehrlein / Mahindra Racing /+ 6.489s/ 18
3. Daniel Abt / Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler /+ 14.529s/ 16
4. Edoardo Mortara / Venturi Formula E Team /+ 17.056s/ 12
5. Robin Frijns / Envision Virgin Racing /+ 20.276s/ 10
6. Mitch Evans / Panasonic Jaguar Racing /+ 23.755s/ 8
7. Alexander Sims / BMW i Andretti Motorsport /+ 27.590s/ 6
8. Jerome d’Ambrosio / Mahindra Racing /+ 41.984s/ 4
9. Oliver Turvey / NIO Formula E Team /+ 45.059s/ 2
10. Jose Maria Lopez / GEOX Dragon /+ 26.376s/ 1
11. Nelson Piquet Jr. / Panasonic Jaguar Racing /+ 48.635s
12. Lucas di Grassi / Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler /+ 1m03.552s
13. Andre Lotterer / DS Techeetah /+ 1m14.706s
14. Gary Paffett / HWA Racelab /+ 1 lap
Oliver Rowland / Nissan e.dams /31 laps
Antonio Felix da Costa / BMW i Andretti Motorsport /23 laps
Jean-Eric Vergne / DS Techeetah /22 laps
Sebastien Buemi / Nissan e.dams /21 laps
Stoffel Vandoorne / HWA Racelab /17 laps
Maximilian Gunther / GEOX Dragon /12 laps
Felipe Massa / Venturi Formula E Team /12 laps
Tom Dillmann / NIO Formula E Team /10 laps

Standings after 3 races

1/Jérôme d'Ambrosio/44
2/Sam Bird/43
3/António Félix da Costa/28
4/Robin Frijns/28
5/Jean-Éric Vergne/28
6/Mitch Evans/22
7/Daniel Abt/21
8/André Lotterer/19
9/Pascal Wehrlein/18
10/Alexander Sims/18

Popular Tweets



User Comments

No comments yet..

Other Event Name

Potential Filenames