Rally de Portugal






Thu 17th May 2018

(0 Attendance)

Home / Motorsport / WRC / 2018 / Rally de Portugal

The Rally de Portugal (formerly: Rallye de Portugal) is a rally competition held in Portugal. First held in 1967, the seventh running of the race, the 7º TAP Rallye de Portugal was the third event in the inaugural FIA World Rally Championship in 1973. The rally remained on the WRC calendar for the next 29 years, and after being dropped for 2002–2006, the event returned to Portugal in 2007. During the 1970s, 1980s and early 1990s, Rally de Portugal was a mixed event between asphalt and gravel. Currently it is an all-gravel event.
Rally de Portugal has been awarded "The Best Rally in the World" five times and in 2000 "The Most Improved Rally of the Year". The most successful driver in the history of the rally is Finland's Markku Alén, who has won the event five times (1975, 1977, 1978, 1981 and 1987).
Hugely popular event on technical and tricky gravel roads based around Matosinhos, near Porto, in the north of the country.Thursday evening start at picturesque Guimarães Castle is followed by big power slides for the crowds at Lousada rallycross circuit.
The first full day heads north for three repeated stages around Viano do Castelo, near the Spanish border. It ends with two tests in Porto’s city centre streets. Saturday is the longest leg, journeying east to demanding roads in the Cabreira Mountains. Three stages are driven morning and afternoon.Sunday is all about Fafe and its enormous crowds. All five stages are in the municipality, including a double pass over the legendary test itself.

Result List
1 Thierry Neuville/ Nicolas Gilsoul Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC 3:49:46.6 0.0 25 +4
2 Elfyn Evans/ Daniel Barritt M-Sport Ford WRT Ford Fiesta WRC 3:50:26.6 +40.0 18 +1
3 Teemu Suninen/ Mikko Markkula M-Sport Ford WRT Ford Fiesta WRC 3:50:33.9 +47.3 15 +2
4 Dani Sordo/ Carlos del Barrio Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT Hyundai i20 Coupe WRC 3:50:47.5 +1:00.9 12 +3
5 Esapekka Lappi/ Janne Ferm Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Toyota Yaris WRC 3:50:51.3 +1:04.7 10 +5
6 Mads Østberg/ Torstein Eriksen Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT Citroën C3 WRC 3:53:20.1 +3:33.5 8
7 Craig Breen/ Scott Martin Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT Citroën C3 WRC 3:55:09.6 +5:23.0 6
8 Pontus Tidemand/ Jonas Andersson Czech Republic Škoda Motorsport Škoda Fabia R5 4:03:57.4 +14:10.8 4
9 Lukasz Pieniazek/ Przemyslaw Mazur Finland Printsport Škoda Fabia R5 4:06:03.9 +16:17.3 2
10 Stéphane Lefebvre/ Gabin Moreau France Citroën Total Rallye Team Citroën C3 R5 4:06:20.9 +16:34.3 1

Championship standings after the rally

1 Belgium Thierry Neuville Belgium 119
2 France Sébastien Ogier France 100
3 Estonia Ott Tänak Estonia 72
4 Spain Dani Sordo Spain 60
5 Finland Esapekka Lappi Finland 55

Manufacturers' and teams' championships

1 Hyundai Shell Mobis WRT South Korea 175
2 M-Sport Ford WRT United Kingdom 162
3 Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT Japan 140
4 Citroën Total Abu Dhabi WRT France 111



Potential Filenames
WRC 2018-05-17 Rally de Portugal.mkv
WRC 2018-05-17 Rally de Portugal.avi
WRC 2018-05-17 Rally de Portugal.mp4