Tour De France Stage 18

Thu 17th September 2020 UTC
Thu 17th September 2020 Local

00:00:00 UTC
00:00:00 Local



Recent Record

UCI World Tour




(0 Attendance)

Home / Sport / Cycling / UCI World Tour / 2020 / Tour De France Stage 18

Video Highlights

With the stage featuring the shortest distance to get sprint points (14km after start), green jersey leader Sam Bennett and Peter Sagan, along with 30 other cyclists battled it out. Bennett edged Sagan by finishing first and third respectively; hence, adding five more points to his lead. After the sprint, the rest of the course features five mountain classification climbs with the following order: Category 1 Cormet de Roselend, Category 3 Côte de la route des Villes, Category 2 Col des Saisies, Category 1 Col des Aravis, and the Hors catégorie Glières Plateau. With 47 points maximum up for grabs for the King of the Mountains (KoM) jersey for this stage and with several cyclists within 30 points of the current KoM leader Tadej Pogačar, cyclists who plan on getting the jersey made the attack. For the first two climbs, Marc Hirschi goes ahead of Richard Carapaz, but Hirschi crashed while descending after Col des Saisies, leaving Carapaz, teammate Michał Kwiatkowski, and Pello Bilbao as race leaders. On the climb to Glieres Plateau, Mikel Landa tried to distance away from the yellow jersey group, but was soon caught up before reaching summit, while dropping top 10 cyclists Adam Yates, Rigoberto Urán, and Alejandro Valverde. Richie Porte got a flat tire while traversing the gravel section of the Glieres Plateau, losing at most 40 seconds in the process, but was able to catch up with the yellow jersey group. Hirschi and Bilbao also got caught up with the yellow jersey group, while Kwiatkowski and Carapaz, who placed first on the final two climbs, cruised at the front, giving a 1-2 finish for the Ineos Grenadiers team. Kwiatkowski won the stage, marking the first time he won a stage on a Grand Tour. Carapaz won the KoM jersey from Pogačar. With his effort on today's stage, Hirschi won the combativity award. André Greipel called it quits for the tour.

None found...

Result List
1 Michał Kwiatkowski04h 47' 33''

Result Description
Rank Rider Team Time
1 Michał Kwiatkowski (POL) Ineos Grenadiers 4h 47' 33"
2 Richard Carapaz (ECU) Ineos Grenadiers + 0"
3 Wout van Aert (BEL) Team Jumbo–Visma + 1' 51"
4 Primož Roglič (SLO) Jersey yellow.svg Team Jumbo–Visma + 1' 53"
5 Tadej Pogačar (SLO) Jersey polkadot.svgJersey white.svg UAE Team Emirates + 1' 53"
6 Richie Porte (AUS) Trek–Segafredo + 1' 54"
7 Enric Mas (ESP) Jersey yellow number.svg Movistar Team + 1' 54"
8 Mikel Landa (ESP) Bahrain–McLaren + 1' 54"
9 Damiano Caruso (ITA) Bahrain–McLaren + 1' 54"
10 Tom Dumoulin (NED) Team Jumbo–Visma + 1' 54"

Popular Tweets



User Comments

No comments yet..

Other Event Name

Potential Filenames