Sheffield Weds


User Rating

(0 users)

Next Event
Stoke vs Sheffield Weds (30 Mar)

Head Coach

Steve Bruce

Recent Form
  W      D      D      W      W    

1867 (152 years old)


Hillsborough Stadium
(39,732 Capacity)

Jersey Clearart

Owlerton, Sheffield, England


English League Championship

Last Edit
zag: 12/Feb/19
Home / Soccer / English League Championship / Sheffield Weds

Upcoming Events
30 Mar 19 Stoke   -  Sheffield Weds
06 Apr 19 Sheffield Weds   -  Aston Villa
09 Apr 19 Sheffield Weds   -  Nottingham F.
13 Apr 19 Leeds   -  Sheffield Weds
19 Apr 19 Norwich   -  Sheffield Weds

Latest Results
16 Mar 19 Sheffield Weds  4 - 2  Blackburn
12 Mar 19 Bolton  0 - 2  Sheffield Weds
09 Mar 19 Derby  1 - 1  Sheffield Weds
04 Mar 19 Sheffield Weds  0 - 0  Sheffield United
26 Feb 19 Sheffield Weds  2 - 0  Brentford

Available in:

Sheffield Wednesday Football Club is a football club in Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England who play in the Championship, the second tier of the English leagues. Sheffield Wednesday are one of the oldest professional clubs in the world and the third oldest in the English league. The Wednesday, as they were known until 1929, were founding members of The Football Alliance in 1889 and its first champions. They joined The Football League three years later and were also one of the founding members of the Premier League in 1992.

Since joining the Football League in 1892, the club has spent most of its history in the top flight of English football but have not played at this level since being relegated in 2000. They have won four League titles, three FA Cups and one League Cup in 1991, their only major trophy since 1935. They reached the FA Cup and League Cup Finals in 1993 but lost both to Arsenal. They also lost the 1966 FA Cup final to Everton.

Since 1899, Sheffield Wednesday have played home matches at Hillsborough Stadium in the north-western suburb of Owlerton, hence their nickname The Owls. Hillsborough is currently an all-seater ground with a capacity of 39,732.

Team Members

Matt Penney

Almen Abdi

Joost van Aken

ashley baker

Barry Bannan

George Boyd

Jacob Butterfield

Cameron Dawson

Steven Fletcher

Fernando Forestie

Morgan Fox

Gary Hooper

Jack Hunt

Sam Hutchinson

Lucas Joao

David Jones

Kieran Lee

Tom Lees

Marco Matias

Atdhe Nuhiu

Liam Palmer

Daniel Pudil

Adam Reach

Jordan Rhodes

Jack Stobbs

Frederico Venanci

Keiren Westwood

Joe Wildsmith

= Contract years remaining

Stadium or Home

Hillsborough Stadium in Sheffield, England has been the home ground of Sheffield Wednesday F.C. since opening in 1899. It is a 39,732 capacity all-seater stadium, making it the largest club ground in England outside of the Premier League. It is located in the Sheffield suburb of Owlerton and takes its name from the parliamentary constituency in which it lies.

Although the ground has received little investment since Euro 1996, it is still regarded as "a beautiful ground oozing character." It has two large two-tiered stands and two large single-tiered stands, all of them covered. All four stands are of a similar capacity with the South Stand being the largest and the West stand (used for away fans) the smallest. Only one corner of the ground is filled, between the West and North Stands. This area, known as the North West corner, is uncovered and is only used for visiting supporters when the West Stand's upper and lower tiers are full. On the other corner of the West Stand is an electronic scoreboard.

On 15 April 1989, the ground was the scene of the Hillsborough disaster in which 96 Liverpool fans were crushed to death at an FA Cup semi-final. This led to a series of safety improvements at the ground and other stadia around the country, including the requirement for top clubs to have all-seater stadia and the withdrawal of perimeter fencing.

Plans by the club to renovate the stadium and expand capacity to 44,825 have been approved by Sheffield City Council with the aim of hosting World Cup matches. The stadium previously played host to World Cup and European Championship football in 1966 and 1996 respectively.



Other Links