Jo-Wilfried Tsonga


User Rating
(0 users) Add Extra Details

1985 (33 years old)

Birth Place
Le Mans

Tennis Player

1.88 /


Wage Year

Player Manager ID

Player Cutout


ATP Mens

ATP World Tour

Home / Tennis / ATP World Tour / ATP Mens / Jo-Wilfried Tsonga


Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (French pronunciation: ​; born 17 April 1985) is a French professional tennis player currently ranked World No. 10 as of 12th June 2017. He was born in Le Mans, to a Congolese father, Didier Tsonga, who moved to France in the 1970s to play handball, and a French mother, Évelyne. Tsonga is a member of the Tennis Club de Paris (TCP). His career-high singles ranking is world No. 5, which he achieved in February 2012.

Tsonga rose to fame by virtue of his performance in the 2008 Australian Open when, as an unseeded player, he reached the final, having defeated four seeded players along the way, including a straight-sets win over world No. 2 Rafael Nadal in the semifinals. Tsonga eventually lost to world No. 3 Novak Djokovic in the final in four sets, after winning the first set; it was the only set Djokovic dropped during the tournament.

Tsonga followed this up by winning his first ATP Masters Series championship at the 2008 Paris Masters, thus qualifying for the 2008 Tennis Masters Cup in Shanghai, China. His best performances in a major tournament since 2008 are semifinal appearances in the 2010 Australian Open, the 2013 and 2015 French Opens, and at Wimbledon in 2011 and 2012. He also reached the final of the 2011 ATP World Tour Finals, where he lost to five-time and defending champion Roger Federer. He achieved his second Masters Series win at the 2014 Canadian Open, defeating four top ten players on the way to victory, including Djokovic, Murray, and Federer. On top of his Masters Series victories, Tsonga also reached the final of the 2011 Paris Masters and the 2015 Shanghai Masters - losing to Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic respectively. To add to this, he won the 2009 Shanghai Masters doubles title with partner Julian Benneteau.

He has reached the quarterfinal stage of all four Grand Slams. He is also the first and one of only three players (the others being Tomáš Berdych and Stan Wawrinka) to have Grand Slam wins against each of the Big Four (namely Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, and Andy Murray).

Career Honours


Former Teams
None Found... Add Some?

None Found... Add One?



Other Links