Aris BC
(0 users)


Next Event

Head Coach
None Found...
Add new Player with 'Manager' position

League Position

Recent League Form ➡

1922 (102 years old)


None Found Add one?

Equipment Clearart


Primary Colours



Greek Basket League

Last Edit
avzubkof: 16/May/21


10/06 Aris BC - Peristeri BC
07/06 Peristeri BC - Aris BC
06/06 Peristeri BC 75 - 71 Aris BC
02/06 Aris BC 65 - 80 Panathinaiko
31/05 Panathinaiko 89 - 71 Aris BC

Description Available in:
Aris Basketball Club (Greek: Άρης K.A.E., transliterated into English Aris B.S.A.) known in European competitions as Aris Thessaloniki, is the professional basketball team of the major Thessaloniki-based Greek multi-sport club A.C. Aris Thessaloniki. Aris BC was founded in 1922, eight years after the founding of the multi-sport club and the football team. Their traditional home arena is Alexandreio Melathron (Nick Galis Hall).

Aris BC is one of the most successful Greek basketball clubs of all time, tallying ten Greek League championships and eight Greek Cups, making the Double four times (1986–87, 1987–88, 1988–89, 1989–90). They have also won three European titles: the FIBA Saporta Cup (1992–93), the FIBA Korać Cup (1996–97) and the FIBA EuroCup Challenge (2002–03). They are also one of only two non-relegated teams from the Greek League, with participation in every Greek First Division Championship until today (the other team is Panathinaikos). Aris holds the record for the most straight wins in the Greek League, at an amazing 80 consecutive wins in a row. Before the arrival of Nikos Galis to Aris, and the first European successes of the team, Greek basketball wasn't as competitive as it was in other European countries. Consequently, Aris helped to establish basketball in Greece, and to greatly increase its popularity across the country.

Under the leadership of the legendary duo of Nikos Galis and Panagiotis Giannakis, Aris was the dominant force in Greek basketball during the 1980s and early 1990s. It is for this period of dominance that Aris BC has been nicknamed "The Emperor", and was voted the most successful Greek sporting club of the 20th century. Aris is also one of the most renown Greek clubs in European basketball, participating in three consecutive FIBA European Champions Cup Final Fours, and later on winning three lower-tier level European titles. The historic win of the FIBA Korać Cup in the 1996–97 season in particular, bolstered the notion that Aris has a unique place in the history of Greek basketball, and in the history of Greek sports in general.

Well-known notable players that have played with the club over the years, among others, include: Nikos Galis, Panagiotis Giannakis, Nikos Filippou, Lefteris Subotić, Miroslav Pecarski, Reggie Theus, Walter "The Truth" Berry, Roy Tarpley, Stojko Vranković, Žarko Paspalj, Edgar Jones, Tiit Sokk, Panagiotis Liadelis, Harold Ellis, Joe Arlauckas, Giorgos Sigalas, José Ortiz, Andrew Betts, Nikos Chatzivrettas, Nestoras Kommatos, Will Solomon, Smush Parker, Michalis Kakiouzis, Dimos Dikoudis, Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf, Jeremiah Massey, Kostas Papanikolaou, Kostas Sloukas, Bryant Dunston, and Sasha Vezenkov.

Team Members




= Player Contract years remaining
Showing 0 to 2 (Total: 2)




Other Links